Category: Media & Video · Video generation
Features
Runway is a production suite for video, images, and audio and offers third-party models such as Kling 3.0 and Nano Banana Pro alongside its own models. This lets you compare models inside one account and then edit, add audio to, and upscale the raw clip.
Gen-4.5 creates 2-to-10-second clips from text or images at 720p and costs 12 credits per second. Aleph 2.0 edits existing video through text or a reference image for up to 30 seconds at 1080p; Runway lists 4K as an upscaling feature, not as native Gen-4.5 output.
Standard includes 625 credits, music, voice, sound effects, up to three projects, and five parallel generations. Pro adds capacity, Runway MCP, a brand kit, and a voice clone. Max and the separate Team plan allow one month of credit rollover; Team shares projects and credits among members.
- Multi-model studio with Gen-4.5, Aleph 2.0, and third-party video and image models
- Gen-4.5 creates text-to-video and image-to-video clips of 2 to 10 seconds at 720p for 12 credits per second
- Aleph 2.0 edits existing video through text or a reference image, up to 30 seconds at 1080p
- Music, voice, sound effects, lip sync, and voice cloning depending on the plan
- 4K upscaling, parallel generations, projects, and Brand Kits depending on the tier
- Runway MCP from Pro for integration into agent-driven production workflows
Prices and plans
| Tier | Price | Period | What you get |
| Free | free | One-time | 125 one-time credits A selection of generative models to test 5 GB storage |
|---|
| Standard | $15 / $12 | month, monthly / annual billing | 625 credits/mo All image and video models (Gen-4.5, Nano Banana Pro, Aleph, Veo 3.1 and more) 4K upscaling No watermarks Pricing page: ≈52s Gen-4.5, 104s Gen-4 Turbo, or 78 Gen-4 images (1080p) |
|---|
| Pro | $35 / $28 | month, monthly / annual billing | 2,250 credits/mo Everything in Standard Custom voices for lip-sync and TTS 100 GB storage Pricing page: ≈187s Gen-4.5, 375s Gen-4 Turbo, or 281 Gen-4 images (1080p) |
|---|
| Max | $95 / $76 | month, monthly / annual billing | 9,500 credits/mo 1-month credit rollover First access to the newest models Studio formats (ProRes, image sequences) Pricing page: ≈791s Gen-4.5, 1,900s Gen-4 Turbo, or 1,187 Gen-4 images (1080p) |
|---|
| Team (monthly) | $69Minimum 2, maximum 9 members; shared credit balance | seat/month | Shared projects, comments, and brand kits ProRes, image sequences, and HDR Credit rollover for one month |
|---|
| Team (annual billing) | $55Minimum 2, maximum 9 members; shared credit balance | seat/month, billed annually | Shared projects, comments, and brand kits ProRes, image sequences, and HDR Credit rollover for one month |
|---|
| Enterprise | contact sales | Custom | Custom credits SSO Workspace analytics Teamspaces Priority support |
Video models
Gen-4.5
- Generates
- Text-to-video and image-to-video. Help says additional inputs are coming soon.
- Max. duration
- 2-10 seconds (help and API context)
- Resolution
- Edition 720p. Text-to-Video 16:9 1280×720. Image-to-video additional 9:16, 1:1, 4:3, 3:4, 21:9.
- Frame rate
- 24 or 25 fps
- Audio
- Not published on the Gen-4.5 help page
- Camera / motion
- The prompt drives the scene. No separate camera API in the help table.
- Watermark
- Standard and up: no watermarks. Free: not stated.
- Rights / use
- No separate rights line on the pricing page
- Credits / seconds
- 12 credits per second (help). Pricing page: 60 credits / 5 s. Standard 625 credits ≈ 52 s, Pro 2250 ≈ 187 s, Max 9500 ≈ 791 s.
- Note
- Plan: Standard and higher. API can deliver ProRes, PNG sequence, 10-bit SDR and true HDR, with a surcharge.
- Source
- https://help.runwayml.com/hc/en-us/articles/46974685288467-Creating-with-Gen-4-5
Aleph 2.0
- Generates
- In-context video editing: existing video plus text or image. Edit one frame and match the rest. Change elements, multi-shot, restyle, remove, tighter shot.
- Max. duration
- Up to 30 seconds
- Resolution
- 1080p
- Frame rate
- Not specified
- Audio
- Not published
- Camera / motion
- The prompt can change framing (“Tighter shot on the product”). No separate camera rig in the docs.
- Watermark
- Standard+: no watermarks
- Rights / use
- Not published
- Credits / seconds
- Pricing page: 140 credits per 5 seconds.
- Note
- Current Aleph 2.0 in-context editing model.
- Source
- https://runway.com/product/aleph-2
Seedance 2.0 / 2.0 Fast / 2.5
- Generates
- Text, image or video to video (API table). Seedance 2.5 note on the API pricing page: up to 30 s, 1080p, references for image, video, audio.
- Max. duration
- Seedance 2.5: up to 30 seconds (API note). 2.0 durations on the price page counted as 4-second clips.
- Resolution
- Seedance 2.0 Pro 1080p on the price page. 2.5: 1080p according to API note.
- Frame rate
- Not specified
- Audio
- 2.5: audio reference in the API note. No lip-sync spec.
- Camera / motion
- Not published
- Watermark
- Standard+: no watermarks
- Rights / use
- Not published
- Credits / seconds
- Pricing page: Seedance 2.0 Pro 1080p 160 credits / 4 s; Seedance 2.0 Fast 116 credits / 4 s. 2.5 credit rate not on the consumer pricing page.
- Source
- https://runwayml.com/pricing
Veo 3.1 (in Runway)
- Generates
- Text or image to video, listed inside Runway as a third-party model.
- Max. duration
- Not specified on the Runway price page
- Resolution
- Not specified
- Frame rate
- Not specified
- Audio
- Not published on the Runway pricing page
- Camera / motion
- Not published
- Watermark
- Standard+: no watermarks
- Rights / use
- Not published
- Credits / seconds
- No separate rate on the visible pricing page
- Note
- Listed as available; consumer limits not published.
- Source
- https://docs.dev.runwayml.com/guides/models.md
Limits
Standard, Pro, and Max are individual subscriptions; Team is a separate per-seat plan for 2 to 9 members. Max and Team roll unused credits over for one month. Purchased extra Runway credits do not expire according to the pricing FAQ. Gen-4.5 costs 12 credits per second; Aleph 2.0 is listed at 140 credits per 5 seconds.
Similar tools
From the same subcategory “Video generation”, continuing alphabetically from this entry.
Is Runway available for free?
Not permanently. What is published is a one-off free allowance. 125 one-time credits; no monthly reset is published.
Where is Runway's vendor based?
Runway AI, Inc., based in USA. For data processing and privacy terms the vendor's own contract governs.
Is paying annually worth it for Runway?
On the Team plan, paying monthly costs $69 and paying annually $55 per month. That is 20 percent less, in exchange for a yearly commitment.
Is Runway still active?
Active Creative plans and signup are available.
How many plans are documented for Runway?
The catalog documents 7 plans with price, billing period, and included features.
Which use case is Runway categorized for?
Runway is listed in the catalog under “Media & Video.”
Where do the details about Runway come from?
Prices, limits, and product details are documented against the listed official vendor page.
How we compare
We compare free access, paid entry, plan limits, features and the listed official sources. Unsourced figures stay marked as not published.
Only confirmed entries appear in the catalog. Prices, plans and limits come from listed official vendor pages. Missing figures stay marked as not published. Result lists are alphabetical by default and can be switched to Free access first; neither is a quality ranking. The vendor page always wins.
Edited and checked by the AI Compare team
Sources
- https://runway.com/pricing
- https://help.runwayml.com/hc/en-us/articles/46974685288467-Creating-with-Gen-4-5
- https://runway.com/product/aleph-2
- https://docs.dev.runwayml.com/guides/models.md
- https://docs.dev.runwayml.com/ai-context.md
- https://runway.com/pricing
- https://help.runwayml.com/hc/en-us/articles/52150503729171-Aleph-2-0-Prompting-Guide
Visit site (opens in a new tab)
Spotted an outdated figure? Vendor pages change without notice. Report an error